Dondon Portugal makes strong comeback at the Yokohama Philippine GT Round 3

Dondon Portugal makes strong comeback at the Yokohama Philippine GT Round 3

Batangas Racing Circuit, Philippines  – Dondon Portugal bested the 13-car field despite mechanical issues with his GT 300 Mitsubishi Evolution VIII race car in the 3rd Round of the 2015 Yokohama Philippine GT Championship last July 26 at the Batangas Racing Circuit (BRC).

The mayor of Taysan, Batangas returned to the series after missing out on the first 2 legs, challenging W-Autosport’s Willie Torres in the GT 300 class. Also making their first apperance this season are Joel Portugal and Allen Macaraig both competing in GT 150.

 The day’s action proved fitting to break in the newly-laid asphalt of the demanding 3.4 km Batangas Racing Circuit. This was the first officially-sactioned event to run on the freshly-paved track. Further changes for GT 150 and GT 100 racers are the use of Yokohama S Drive tires – a sports touring tire that’s more forgiving and economical than both the ADVAN A050 and Neova AD08 racing tires.

In Qualifying, Dondon Portugal proved that the 2-race hiatus did not diminish his pace one bit, taking pole position with a time of 1:47.327. However, Portugal experienced mechanical problems during the morning’s Sprint Race, prompting him to retire in lap 6 of the 10-lap event. This allowed Torres to take overall victory and 1st in GT 300.

Paolo Mantolino of Ethanworx Racing Team finished 1st in GT 200, followed by Walter Zamora in the Walter Lights and Sound Honda Civic EK sedan, while Richmon Dela Rosa crossed the line 3 laps down in 3rd.

philgt3_01 philgt3_02 philgt3_03The GT 150 class saw Allen Macaraig retire early after his car rolled over in lap 2 of the Sprint Race. Thankfully, he escaped unscathed. As for the class win, Patrick Dela Rosa outpaced the SM Bonus Honda Civic EK hatchbacks of NR Joaquin and Dindo De Jesus in his own Civic hatchback.

Ivan Diaz finished 1st in GT 100 with a mere 0.400 second lead over Edwin Rodriguez in the brand new Mazda 2 SKYACTIV race car. Joginder “King” Sin finished 3rd.

The afternoon’s 17-Lap GT Race was threatened by dark rain clouds. Thankfully, the showers stopped as soon as the race began.

With his race car fixed, Dondon Portugal was able to return to the track and lead a lights-to-flag overall victory, finishing 52.678 seconds ahead of GT 300 rival Willie Torres.

Paolo Mantolino was in a good pace to go toe-to-toe with Richmon Dela Rosa, but a puncture on his left front tire required a pitstop to replace it. This ended his chances at a victory in GT 200, which would go to Richmon Dela Rosa. He was followed by Walter Zamora in 2nd, and Mantolino who managed to salvage 3rd place despite finishing a lap down.

In GT 150, Patrick Dela Rosa again bested Dindo De Jesus and NR Joaquin, with the 3 finishing 1st, 2nd, and 3rd in class, respectively.

Ivan Diaz once again found himself taking 1st place in GT 100, with Edwin Rodriguez and the Mazda2 SKYACTIV race car in 2nd and Joginder “King” Sin in 3rd a lap behind.

In the Philminiracers Classic Mini, the Open Pro Class Final was won by Jason Choachuy, followed by Rodney Caballero in 2nd and Borgy Zoleta in 3rd. Meanwhile, the VW Beetles of Dexter Daquigan, Raffy Locson, Arman Salada took their respective podium spots in both the Pre-final and Final Races of the Classic Aspirated Cup.

The top 3 finishers in the action-packed Bracket Race of the Sparco Cup were Eduardo Suiza,  Jey Jey Beredo, and Lewy Manio, while the Grid Race which was won by Paul Henderson Perez, Emerson Ocampo, and Eduardo Suiza.

Round 4 of the 2015 Yokohama Philippine GT Championship will be held on August 29/30 at the Clark International Speedway. It is sanctioned by the Automobile Association Philippines (AAP), sponsored by Yokohama Tires Sales Philippines, Inc., Sparco, and Aguila Auto Glass with support from the offical dyno provider, Speedlab.

 For more info or inquiries about the Philippine GT Championship, please contact BRCI at (02) 729-5365 or 0932-860-4522. Get the latest announcements at or log on to


2015 Yokohama GT Championship Round 3 Results (Sprint Race)


Pos. Name Laps Best Tm Total Tm/Diff
GT 300  
1st Willie Torres 10 01:52.469 18:53.948
2nd Dondon Portugal 5 01:47.414 + 5 laps
GT 200  
1st Paolo Mantolino 10 01:52.549 + 13.887
2nd Walter Zamora 10 01:57.836 + 54.593
3rd Richmon Dela Rosa 7 01:52.626 + 3 laps
GT 150  
1st Patrick Dela Rosa 10 01:58.552 + 59.389
2nd NR Joaquin 10 01:59.421 + 1:08.459
3rd Dindo De Jesus 10 01:59.929 + 1:13.091
GT 100  
1st Ivan Diaz 9 02:05.081 + 1 lap
2nd Edwin Rodriguez 9 02:07.634 + 1 lap
3rd Joginder “King” Sin 9 02:10.440 + 1 lap



2015 Yokohama GT Championship Round 3 Results (GT Race)


Pos. Name Laps Best Tm Total Tm
GT 300  
1st Dondon Portugal 17 01:48.941 32:34.890
2nd Willie Torres 17 01:56.253 + 52.678
GT 200  
1st Richmon Dela Rosa 17 01:52.309 + 6.713
2nd Walter Zamora 17 01:57.761 + 1:21.401
3rd Paolo Mantolino 16 01:52.718 + 1 lap
GT 150  
1st Patrick Dela Rosa 17 01:58.985 + 1:32.797
2nd Dindo De Jesus 17 01:59.597 + 1:41.162
3rd NR Joaquin 17 01:58.685 + 1:47.140
GT 100  
1st Ivan Diaz 16 02:05.602 + 1 lap
2nd Edwin Rodriguez 16 02:26.635 + 1 lap
3rd Joginder “King” Sin 15 02:25.565 + 2 laps

Source:Attack Manila




About author

Related Articles


Contact Us:

Like us please for more updates
Or wait 30 seconds