Ford Philippines Honors Top Journalists at the 15th Henry Ford Awards

Ford Philippines Honors Top Journalists at the 15th Henry Ford Awards


The HFA continues to stand for excellence in reporting and driving the automotive industry’s progress in print, online and broadcast media. A total of 230 entries were submitted by automotive and non-automotive journalists this year, the highest ever for the HFA.

“Our annual Henry Ford Awards does not only set the caliber for our media friends to hone their craft, but also builds an esteemed standard of recognition that honors honest, credible and professional journalists who have helped shape the motoring industry to what it is today,” said Joseph Ayllón, Assistant Vice President for Communications, Ford Philippines.

15th Henry Ford Awards Categories and Winners

This year’s winners are Jason dela Cruz of Top Gear Philippines for Automotive Print Feature, Vernon Sarne of for Automotive Column, Paulo Rafael Subido of for Automotive Online Feature, and James Deakin of for Automotive Blog.

Bagging the Green and Smart Technology Feature category is Mariano Jose Tamayo of Top Gear Philippines, Augustus Paiso, Jr. of GRID Magazine for Automotive Lifestyle Feature, Real Gerard Alcober of Turbo Zone for Automotive Video Feature, Jerel Fajardo of C! Magazine for Published Photograph, and Vince Pornelos of for Automotive Road Safety Feature.

Claiming the Ford special categories are Brian Afuang of BusinessWorld for Ford Automotive Feature, Ma. Theresa Andolong of BusinessMirror for Ford Go Further Feature, John Raymond Darilag of Top Gear Philippines for Ford Published Photograph and Ulysses Ang of Wheels TV and the Philippine Star for Ford Automotive Video Feature.

Fast Times, the motoring section of The Manila Times, claimed top honors as it was hailed Best Automotive Broadsheet for 2015.  All national broadsheet automotive sections were automatically included in the competition and judged on content, relevance, consistency and layout quality.

Along with a commemorative trophy, each winner of the HFA regular categories received a cash prize of Php 20,000 while winners of the special categories each received Php 25,000.

15th Henry Ford Awards Board of Judges

The panel of judges for this year’s Henry Ford Awards includes experts in the academe and corporate world who carefully went through the two-phase process.

The phase one judges include representatives from the academe, where some have been part of the HFA for the past years: Dr. Francine Racho (Vice Dean, School of Communications, University of the Asia and the Pacific), Dr. Severino Sarmenta, Jr. (Chair, Department of Communication, Ateneo de Manila University), Dr. Elena Pernia (Dean, College of Mass Communications, University of the Philippines – Diliman) and Gary Mariano (Chair, Department of Communication, De La Salle University – Manila).

Phase two judges comprise of Marla Alvarez (Regional Manager, Corporate Responsibility & Inclusion for Asia Pacific, Thomson Reuters), Simone Orendain (President, Foreign Correspondents Association of the Philippines), Luchi Cruz-Valdes (News Chief, Bloomberg TV Philippines, News5) and Kay Hart (Director, Advanced Consumer Experience Marketing for Asia Pacific, Ford Motor Company).

HFA also sought out the help of special judges in their respective fields such Francisco Guerrero (Travel and lifestyle photographer, Executive Editor of GRID Magazine), Raz de la Torre (Film and TV Director), Jayvee Fernandez (Social Media Head, Manila Bulletin; Blogger,, and Richmond Walker (Executive Creative Director, Ogilvy & Mather).

About Ford Motor Company

Ford Motor Company, a global automotive industry leader based in Dearborn, Mich., manufactures or distributes automobiles across six continents. With about 197,000 employees and 67 plants worldwide, the company’s automotive brands include Ford and Lincoln. The company provides financial services through Ford Motor Credit Company. For more information regarding Ford and its products worldwide, please visit



About author

Related Articles


Contact Us:

Like us please for more updates
Or wait 30 seconds