Yokohama Philippine GT returns to the Clark International Speedway

Yokohama Philippine GT returns to the Clark International Speedway

MANILA, Philippines (17 June 2015) – After hosting a successful season opener last month, the 2015 Yokohama Philippine GT Championship returns to the Clark International Speedway (CIS) this June 20/21 for Round 2.

 The race weekend will once again host a 10-lap Sprint Race in the morning, followed by a 15-lap GT Race in the afternoon on Sunday. But unlike the 10 cars that lined up on the grid during the opening round, the Philippine Race Car Drivers Inc. (PRCDI) are hoping that more competitors will join the on-track action while the championship battle is still wide open.

As it stands, Veli-Matti Kaikkonen is the lone driver in GT 300, while Richmon Dela Rosa, Paolo Mantolino, and Walter Zamora are locked in a heated battle in GT 200. Meanwhile, GT 150 has so far been dominated by Patrick Dela Rosa. In GT 100, Ivan Diaz has won 2 out of 2 races, but will face stiff competition from Joginder “King” Sin and Edwin Rodriguez in the brand new Mazda 2 SKYACTIV race car.

The faster GT 300 and GT 200 cars still run on Yokohama ADVAN A050 racing tires. But there are on-going discussions between GT 150 and GT 100 drivers to run a new tire starting Round 3. Current rules state that they can use either the A050 or ADVAN Neova AD08 R performance tire. If the gentleman’s agreement pushes through, they’ll all switch to more economical Yokohama S Drive tires.

Sponsored by Yokohama Tire Sales Philippines, Inc. (YTSP), the faster GT 300 cars are required to run ADVAN A050 racing tires for the whole season. Competitors in GT 200, GT 150, and GT 100, on the other hand, have the option to run either the A050 or the ADVAN Neova AD08 R performance tire.

Other support races that will share the track with Philippine GT are the Philminiracers Championship Series, Classic Aspirated Cup, and the Sparco Bracket Circuit Racing. This weekend will also feature a new fun class called the Sparco Grid Race with a minimal entry fee of P1,500/car. Designed for amateurs, it allows new drivers to race wheel-to-wheel on track at minimal cost. Safety requirements are helmet, seatbelt, pants, and closed shoes. Racing suits, however, are recommended by not required.

Sponsored by Yokohama Tire Sales Philippines, Inc., the 2015 Philippine GT Championship is sanctioned by the Automobile Association of the Philippines (AAP), sponsored by Yokohama Tires Sales Philippines, Inc., Sparco, and Aguila Auto Glass with support from the official dyno provider, Speedlab.

 For more info or inquiries about the National Drag Racing Championship, please contact BRCI at (02) 729-5365 or 0932-860-4522. Get the latest announcements at or log on to

Source: Time Attack Manila



Tagged with:

About author

Related Articles


Contact Us:

Like us please for more updates
Or wait 30 seconds